Need help With Softner/Iron System

Users who are viewing this thread

Dafreak

Reaction score
Newbie here looking for some help.

So my old Iron Curtain and water softener are shot. I had over a local and respected dealer for some recommendations/suggestions and here is what they are suggesting:

Iron removal system:
-rebuild and rebed the current Iron Curtain for $1350
-purchase a new ozone system for $3395
-purchase a new chlorinator system for $4300

Water Softener system:
-purchase a new A3000-48 for $1895
-purchase a new ESD 2502 for $2685
-purchase a new ECR 3502 for $3200

We are on a well and the rust problem is bad, we can not have a system without it. That being said, I am not sure we require a high end water softener after the iron removal process. My initial thought is to do the rebuild and purchase a Fleck 5600 for use as the softener. Thoughts or recommendations?

Reach4

Reaction score
pH?
Manganese?

You would be better off with a less proprietary system than those proposed.

Dafreak

Reaction score
Hi reach, i don't have any other numbers. When you say less proprietary can you explain as well suggest any alternatives?

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
The systems you mentioned are proprietary meaning the parts, repair work etc can only be done by a single company in a given region. This can sometimes allow these companies to set a price that can not be sent out for a second bid since nobody will or can service the specific equipment.

I would recommend sticking with systems that use a Fleck, Clack, or Autotrol control valve, and with companies that use Structural, or Empress USA made mineral tanks. Avoid companies that use much cheaper Chinese knock offs that look like Fleck or Clack.