Need help with lose refill hose

Users who are viewing this thread

dallasdave

Reaction score
Hello,

DIY newbie here. I replaced the fill level pump in my toilet and it came with a new refill hose. The hose was lose, so I used duct tape to secure it inside the overflow tube...but due to the humidity in the toilet the duct tape keeps losing it's grip (the glue).

I tried using a clip but that didn't work either.

Any ideas on how I can secure the hose? home depot wants me to buy a whole new setup.

Reach4

Reaction score
Home Depot offers http://www.homedepot.com/p/Fluidmaster-Water-Saving-Refill-Tube-215/202510400

You don't need to use the pinch clamp portion on a newer toilet... that would be for an old toilet with a long fill.

You could just use the white thing.

If you have the clip but it is just loose, try a nylon cable tie.

Cable-tie.jpg

Last edited:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
A fill tube too far down the overflow tube can siphon water out of the tank. That's why they supply the clip to keep the end of the tubing above the overflow tube.

index.php

Last edited:

MKS

Reaction score
I installed a fluid master recently.
Looks like this.
The hose slips on a clip that directs the flow to the tube from above.
IMG_20161031_203123.jpg

WJcandee

Wise One
Reaction score
Fluidmaster sells the combined hose and clip separately.

Also, who made the valve you installed? If you have a Korky, you can call them and they will mail you a new clip. Or if you have the clip but can't seem to make it work, post a photo here of the top of the flush valve overflow riser (the tube thing), and we can tell you how to install the clip.

dallasdave

Reaction score
Here's the picture.

The water pump on the left is the new part. The overflow tube on the right is the existing one.