Need help wiring ceiling fan!

Users who are viewing this thread

Stld82

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I have no knowledge of this type of stuff. I want to wire the ceiling fan to be always on and be controled by a remote. I know no idea which wires are for what.

Attachments

• IMG_20170215_202256.jpg
    IMG_20170215_202256.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 317
  • IMG_20170215_202416.jpg
    IMG_20170215_202416.jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 314
  • IMG_20170215_202438.jpg
    IMG_20170215_202438.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 314

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
You are at the wrong end. Close up what have pictured. On line, there are dozen of ways shown how to wire a ceiling fan.
  1. First question is your fan factory made with remote control?
  2. Second question is how does the fan get its power from? with a wall switch or no wall switch?
  3. Is there a light kit installed? From the picture I can see the blue wire for a light is connected to the black wire from the light.
If your fan is already a remote controlled unit, in the ceiling box there will be BLK wire. This is usually hot all the times or it is connected to a wall switch to turn power on and off. The black wire from the fan motor would be connected to this black wire. And WHT to WHT, GRN to GRN or GRN to bare copper.

If the ceiling box has BLK, WHT, RED and bare copper, it means the box was wired for a ceiling fan set up. Where the BLK is for the motor and the fan is switched on and off by the pull chain. The RED wire is connected to the BLU wire of the fan that is connected to the light kit. The red wire would be from the wall switch to turn the light on and off.