Need advice on repairs of copper pipes at water heater

Users who are viewing this thread

Blindog

Tim Bailey
Reaction score
Hi to all and forgive me for diving right in. I'm not a professional plumber but over the last 40 years I've plumbed a few houses and I do all my home related repairs. My daughter recently moved into a house and there is much corrosion and some armature looking work around the water tank (electric) and I want to straighten out some of the work. The solder joints look sloppy/corroded and a few are leaking. The original "plumber"reduced the feed into the house to 1/2" and plumbed everything with 1/2". There is a saddle valve that is leaking and corroded for the humidifier that was tapped into a hot water line. Fortunately most of the branches are in this area and I have the opportunity to get rid of a lot of past sins.
My Questions:
1. I am familiar with copper sweating and have never used this new clip style fittings, Is sweating still an acceptable method?
2. I've always used 3/4" to feed the main lines and break of with 1/2", does this make sense?
3. I would like to attach to the current low height water tank but make it easy to update to a tall tank at a latter date. Are there flexible feeds that would allow for this?
4. I suspect a check valve is in the system so should I consider an expansion tank?
Thanks, Tim

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
1. Sweat is preferred unless in a tight spot when there would be a fire problem.
2. 1/2" is too small for a main. You are on the right track.
3. There are flex copper lines in various lengths. These are actually required in some areas.
4. An expansion tank is required if you have a closed system. This would be if you have a pressure regulator. If the check valve is located in the supply line, that may likely create a closed system also, but not sure on this. A PRV and expansion tank are both needed if the water supply is 80 psi or more. 40 to 60 psi is really plenty of pressure.