Navien 240 water pump issues

Users who are viewing this thread

frank bombe

Reaction score
Hello im new to these combo boiler/water heaters, had new unit installed last christmas and my system failed this week flashing E001 , technican came replaced the pump inside the unit and its back up and running? pretty concerned that its not even a year old and already having issues? My home has 3 zones and the upstairs zone had issues maintaning 65 f when outside temps were in single digits, not sure how to tune this to correct that or if it was related to the pump that we just replaced?? Anyone else having these issues, we paid lot of money for the this system so far disappointed thinking should have just went with a std boiler replacement unit for almost half the cost?

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
Let's back it up a step.

How much of what type of radiation or baseboard do you have on each zone?

Do you have a heating history on this place with a prior boiler? If yes, with some wintertime gas or propane fill-ups with the exact meter reading /fill dates & amounts and ZIP code we/you could calculate the heat load at the 99% outside design temperature using the old boiler as a measuring instrument.

With both the heat load and the radiation figures you can calculate a couple of points on the outdoor reset curve, then tweak them in based on system behavior & comfort.

Could you post a picture of the Navien as-installed, that includes the near-boiler plumbing, circulator pumps/zone valves, expansion tank etc.?

Is yours the NCB240, or is it the NCB240E

frank bombe

Reaction score
I will take some pics, i lived in the home for 10yrs prior but last winter was exceptionally cold at times?I have no idea on the amount of baseboard we have never measured it? 48316

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
Exact meter reading dates and quantities would be needed to run a fuel-use load calculation. If you used unusually low or high thermostat settings that matters too.