My old toilet has a triangle drain hole. How to plug it?

Users who are viewing this thread

shmerl

Reaction score
Our old toilet was continuing leaking so I got a Fluidmaster fill valve and it still leaked. Then I realized it was in the flapper connection. I removed that and instead of finding a round hole, I found a triangular hole and the Fluidmaster flapper part doesn't cover this hole fully. Is there are fix for old toilets like ours?

shmerl

Reaction score
It would be nice to see a picture of what you have. 800 pixels or less.

Oops. Sorry. I know better than that.. Here you go… I don't see a manufacturer name anywhere. There is only a series of numbers inside the tank if that helps at all. As you can see the drain pipe has 3 protruding points that make a triangle and fit into the triangular tank hole. The Fluidmaster replacement which is round is just a little smaller than the points of the triangular hole. I'm assuming that I'm either going to reuse the old one and use some kind of adhesive like Plumber's Putty or silicone? Or use the Fluidmaster replacement and plug the 3 points with silicone or some other compound? Thanks. Steven

Attachments

• IMG_0141.JPG
    IMG_0141.JPG
    43.1 KB · Views: 611
  • IMG_0143.JPG
    IMG_0143.JPG
    57.2 KB · Views: 573
  • IMG_0144.JPG
    IMG_0144.JPG
    48.1 KB · Views: 762
  • IMG_0145.JPG
    IMG_0145.JPG
    61.8 KB · Views: 629
  • IMG_0148.JPG
    IMG_0148.JPG
    47.7 KB · Views: 681
  • IMG_0150.JPG
    IMG_0150.JPG
    43.5 KB · Views: 543

WJcandee

Wise One
Reaction score
Kohler is notorious for having wacky different parts instead of standard ones, particularly flappers and fill valves, and not being receptive to parts from other companies. Most one-piece toilets, however, don't just accept the kind of fill valve you purchased, anyway.