My bill has never been higher!!

Users who are viewing this thread

BlakeStone

Reaction score
Please help me out here. I did TONS of research to see what my equipment puts out in wattage and was even on another forum. I like to get a 2nd opinion here. Here's my scenario:

I have ONE ROOM that I want to heat. My SMALL living room. I have been using baseboard heating since I got the house 18 years ago. When winter comes, its expensive. So, I decided to try infra-red. Ever since I put it in, my heating bill has been going up and up. But then again - its a very cold winter! So I want to know - if its the new heater causing it, or the cold weather.

The specs:
My home is kind of old. Was built in the early 70s. It has a 10 foot baseboard heater. Upon research, I see that the average is 225 watts per foot. So that makes this heater 2250 watts.

My infra-red heater is 1500 watts. Its only used in the living room, and we have a heavy blanket covering the entrance way into the dining room, so the only room being heated by this device is the living room.

So - is it more expensive to run this infra-red heater? Or should I keep using the baseboard heater. In the other forum I asked this in they were talking about heat distribution methods, and BTUs, and more. Does this really factor in? I just want a 2nd opinion. Help me save money!

Thanks!!!!

Reach4

Reaction score
If the baseboard heater is electric, the portable infrared heater should be cheaper to run. The reason is that you can point the infrared heater at you , and the heating that occurs when the IR hits your skin and clothes should make you feel OK at a lower room temperatures.

So I think it is the temperature, the wind, and maybe the electricity rates that are probably making the difference.

It could also be that you have other loads that have increased consumption elsewhere in the house.

BlakeStone

Reaction score