Mosquito control through irrigation system?

Users who are viewing this thread

Bassadict69

Reaction score
I have a large yard that will have 6 zones. We live on the lake and have a HUGE mosquito problem. I spray my yard every couple weeks with a permethrin mixture and it keeps them controlled.

I have been looking at the mosquito injection systems online but am wondering if my yard is too large for something like this. We are drawing from the lake and each zone will run for about an hour at a time.

How is this stuff dosed? A constant feed? Small doses every few minutes?

I do not want to invest in one only to find out I go through the chemical too fast having such a large yard.

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
I have no experience with large lots, but I do know that pretty much any rainfall or watering after I apply localized mosquito control renders it useless.

Bassadict69

Reaction score
Same thing with the permethrin I spray on the yard. Luckily, this time of year, any threats of rainfall are mostly far fetched!

That is another thing I was curious about...if the zone waters for an hour and the chemical isn't being distributed that last minute, but only water, I am thinking it would simply wash away or dilute the chemical in the yard too much.

It sounds like a great idea in theory, but I have too many questions about it...

I did look at one that you have to hold down a red button on the controller to disperse the chemical. I am thinking that may not be too bad for periodic treatments when needed, as long as the system doesnt need to be flushed afterwards which would simply flush it all away once again!

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Probably the reason that you have mosquito problems is because all of the fish and frogs get killed off using that BS near a lake.

A co2 system may work better.

Last edited:

Bassadict69

Reaction score