Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Stop before you wreck your house...

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Users who are viewing this thread

miss0033

Reaction score
I am doing a master bath remodel and ran into a couple issues…

I have removed an old shower and an early 1980s jetted tub, during the removal I found a small leak at an elbow and 3 shut off valves that were horribly corroded to the point where it appeared they might turn to dust if I sneezed too hard. Thankfully, all of this is installed above a lay-in tile ceiling in the utility room, so I have easy access to most connections.

In that ceiling I have a ¾” Branch feed (3 separate ¾” feeds come from Water Heater).

This feed tees off and feeds a ½” line that used to feed a large jetted tub and a tub/shower combo (different bathrooms)

It tees off again and feeds a ½” line that feeds 2 lavatories a water closet and a shower (same bathroom)

Then it necks down to ½” and tees in 2. 1 feeds a shower and 1 feeds a lavatory, water closet, and utility sink. (single bathroom and laundry room).

Here is my plan;

Put a 6 port ¾” manifold (actual 1” I.D.) at the end of this branch’s ¾” hot and cold runs.

1) Run a ½” PEX line w/ shutoff that feeds existing ½” Copper feed to former tub/shower combo (Bathroom #2)
2) Run a ½” PEX line w/ shutoff that feeds 1 new PEX run to new shower with showerhead and hand shower (single Kohler mixing valve with Kohler transfer) in place of old jetted tub. (Master Bath)
3) Run a ½” PEX line w/ shutoff that feeds 3 new PEX runs 2 lavatories and a water closet (3 cold feeds-2 tees, 2 hot feeds-1tee) (Master Bath)
4) Run a ½” PEX line w/ shutoff that feeds existing ½” copper feed to Lavatory, water closer, and utility sink. (Bathroom #3 & laundry Room)
5) Run a ½” PEX line w/ shutoff that feeds existing ½” copper feed to the other shower. (Bathroom #3)
6) Cap for future use.