Low Hot Water pressure at all faucets. Help!

Users who are viewing this thread

JoeWilson

Reaction score
Newbie here. Tried a search but not quite finding what I need.

Was having really low hot water pressure at all faucets and showers. Recently it got REALLY low. Looked up some internet stuff and saw some info about draining/flushing HW tank. Before I did that I disconnected the flex pipe coming out of the WH and disconnected the shut off valve. There was build up almost completely blocking the opening.

I chipped that out, trying to be careful not to chip into the pipe. Hooked it back up, turned it on, and the pressure is worse.

Hooked a hose up to the bottom of the tank, opened it, let drain(i'm not sure if this is a flush or drain) Still extremely low.

Funny thing is, I disconnected the flex pipe once with the valve open and water flowed backwards fine. Not sure if this was just water in the system or not. It flowed for a minute.

Do you guys think that debris is blocking the line somewhere? What should i do. Try to dismantle piece by piece until I find the jammed spot? It's galvanized. Is there a way to force water/air back the opposite way?

Any and all help is appreciated. I have a pregnant wife here who doesn't have much patience. She's 9 months and I think I'd better get her some hot water.

Also, If I could actually speak with somebody, that would be great. (323)707-4356

Mikey

Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek
Reaction score
Your pressure is probably OK -- it's your flow that's woefully inadequate. The two are related by the resistance in the pipes -- the more resistance, the more pressure it takes to develop a given flow. It sounds like your pipes and the water heater are full of scale, rust, mineral buildup, and dog know what else that's accumulated since the house was built. It's not an easy fix, I don't think, but the pros here might be more optimistic.