Loss of Hot Water

Users who are viewing this thread

reneekat17

Reaction score
Recently, the amount of hot water to my shower/tub has decreased in quantity. Before, my daughter would take an hour shower and still have hot water - now I am running out of hot water in under 10 minutes. No changes have been made to the plumbing or hot water heater. Water heater is gas, holds 40 gallons, is about 1-2 years old, and is turned all the way up to HOT. What could be causing this issue and how would I fix it?:confused:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Either someone changed the shower head to one that uses more water. Or the dip tube in the water heater is becoming shorter.

reneekat17

Reaction score
We are using the same shower head that we have been using. The hot water flow has also lessened, even as it does not last as long. If it is the dip tube, what do I need to do to fix it? The heater is only about 2 years old. I am a complete novice when it comes to this stuff, but as a single mom I need to figure it out.

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score
How about the fixtures in the rest of the house? If the heater is only two years old and the other fixtures are not running out (run the kitchen sink for 10 - 20 minutes) then I would be looking at the balancing spool on your tub/shower

reneekat17

Reaction score
Discovered the water heater is actually 5 years old and, of course, two months out of warranty. I drained the tank today and will see if that resolved the issue as someone told me that it could be sediment built up inside reducing amount of hot water. However, I did not see flakes of anything drain out, just a little soapy-looking residue on top of the water. While draining the tank, I ran the hot water in tub and in less than 5 minutes it was cold. If this does not work, I will try to figure out the dip tube. Tom, I have no idea what the balancing spool is or how to fix it.?

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score