Long Bathtub Drain

Users who are viewing this thread

sieg01

Reaction score
I am building a wood bathtub similiar to this

http://www.driftwood.ie/stan_rect.html

The only problem I have so far is that I need a drain with longer treads to be able to fit through the almost 2 inches bottom of the tub. Do people sell such a thing or will I have to come up with a different solution.

Thanks!
Bryce
r004_01.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Herk

Plumber
Reaction score
As a plumber, I can only say that I think it's slightly insane to build a bathtub out of porous materials.

"301.1.1 Approvals. Unless otherwise provided for in this code, all materials, fixtures, or devices used or entering into the construction of plumbing and drainage systems, or parts thereof, shall be submitted to the Administrative Authority for approval and shall conform to approved applicable standards acceptable to the Administrative Authority, and shall be free from defects. All pipe, fittings, traps, fixtures, material, and devices used in a plumbing system shall be listed or labeled by a listing agency or shall be approved by the Administrative Authority when listing or labeling by a listing agency is not available." - UPC

As to your immediate problem, the only way I can see to accomplish what you want is to chamfer space for the waste and overflow.

sieg01

Reaction score
As a plumber, I can only say that I think it's slightly insane to build a bathtub out of porous materials.

Yeah I understand the concern. The whole tub is going to be encapsulated in epoxy. After that it should be as porous as a fiberglass tub.

With the 301.1.1 Approvals... are you saying that the tub since it is a 'device used in a plumbing system' would have to be approved? Or do you mean that any fitting I used for the waste and overflow would have to be UPC approved.

With chamfering, I was thinking along those lines... but it would be cleaner and easier if I didn't have to do that.

Bryce

Jadnashua