Little or no hot water in one bathroom

Users who are viewing this thread

cresttd

Reaction score
I am new to both this site and to plumbing so please be gentel with me.

The problem is in the master bath, The rest of the house is fine. It takes a very long time for hot water to reach the bathroom, (located about 60' from hot water tank) and when it gets there it is not very hot. I do not think it is on a seperate run as there is another bathroom between this one and the water heater and there only seems to be one line out of the tank. Any suggestions? This is my fiancee's house and she says it has been like this since she moved in three years ago. She had a plumber out to check it but apparently he said there was nothing wrong. I am a novice when it comes to plumbing, but there is clearly someting wrong...I just have not clue what it might be.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Does the water line run through a concrete slab? Through a basement? Can you see it anywhere other than at the water heater?

My first thought is that it was probably run without any insulation, and it is just cooling off on its way from the heater to the last bathroom. My guess is that if you let the water run, check the temp along the way, you'll find the ultimate water temp falling as you get further from the water heater.

You can set the hot water heater thermostat higher, so it is still hot when it gets to that bathroom, but keep in mind that it will be much hotter closer to the hot water heater and that can constitute a safety hazard, and will cost you more in energy.

If the line runs through a basement, get some insulation and cover all of the pipe. If it runs through a slab, think about adding a second water heater near that bathroom.

Or, run a new line (very messy) and insulate it well...consider a hot water recirculation system if you use that bathroom often and want hot water there without having to wait a minute or two. My unprofessional opinion.