Lesson Realized

Discussion in 'Remodel Forum & Blog' started by statjunk, Aug 16, 2007.

1. statjunk

statjunk DIY Senior Member

Hello All,

Just thought I would share this realization that I came to yesterday.

I've been flipping and remodeling houses now for about 6 years. My older wiser buddy said something to me early on, after the first one, that I just accepted but didn't absorb. He said, "You'll never be able to buy another house". His message had some adhesion but it wasn't until yesterday that it really stuck.

Here's how it stuck. Another buddy just bought a house. He invites me over and he's so excited about it. I walk through it and while this house isn't the worst I've seen it still needs a lot of work. There are violations a plenty in this thing. Unsealed duct work, exposed wiring, galvanized plumbing, unstrapped plumping, rusty electical panel, bad drywall, poorly done trim with loads of Alex Caulk etc...

So I think my buddy is right I'll likely never just buy a house. To many lemons out there. I guess I'll always have to buy'em cheap and fix'em up.

Any of you guys in the same boat?

Tom
  2. Spaceman Spiff

Spaceman Spiff Architect

I'm a commercial architect and I can't ever just go into a resturant or my kids school anymore and be about my business... I'm always looking at the materials, construction, traffic flow, ADA access, noise, etc.
    I can no longer just "go out to dinner".
  3. Old Dog

Old Dog G.C. 22+ years(in 3 states)

drive the wife nuts...

As a G.C. I do this every where... can't help myself but drives the wife nuts if she is with me.If we are going over to a friend's house the first thing she says "don't say anything!They may of done some of the work themselves."

I can just see this on Dr. Phil...Construction guys who critique everything and the women who love them!
  4. Gary Swart

Gary Swart In the Trades