Lamp Post Bulb keeps blowing out

Users who are viewing this thread

dan123

Reaction score
Hi Guys, I'm a guy that likes lamp posts because they really light up an area. I have a lamp post that the bulb keeps blowing out (I use normal 100 watt bulbs). Recently I took the top off and found the copper receptacle to be badly corroded. So I went to the electrical house where the electricians go and got the exact new piece I needed.....wired it up nice nice....its still blowing out after a few days.

The wiring is older outside wiring from the panel...along side of house...then underground to the lamp post.

Any thoughts? Should I replace the wire??? (easy job but time consuming)

Thanks.

ps I'm a very good amateur electrician if that matters. I also have a great electrician but he knows I like to save money I only bring him in on bigger things or any time i have to get into the panel.

BobL43

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Try a 23 watt CFL bulb and see how long it lasts. Maybe the lamp post is being subjected to vibration or mechanical shock? Also try a 100 watt rough service bulb if you prefer incandescant.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
You could have an issue with the neutral circuit. Takes a little bit of technical understanding of household electricty to test that.

mrmedic

Reaction score
Website
www.thehousemedic.com
Just a shot, But I have been told by electricians that sometime if the black (hot) wire goes to the receptacle on the outside of the screw in part for the bulb this could make the bulbs burn out faster. Has something to do with the neutral wire. So check and make sure the the Black (hot) wire is connected to the center of the socket and see if that helps.

Ron

BobL43

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
twight zone? I've heard of stranger thigs though, like using an aluminum foil strip on a flourescent lamp fixture to make it light up. Heard it here even, and it worked for somebody here I trust.

dan123

Reaction score