Lack of hot water in both showers

Users who are viewing this thread

TripleE711

Reaction score
I'm a forum newbie (and a non-plumbing savy girl) so bear with my lack of term-correctness. :) And before anyone jumps my case because my situation may be similar to someone elses, I did try to read through a lot of the forum and the archives but nothing really touched on my whole situation.

I recently moved into a new house with two bathrooms. One on the main floor with a three knob combo (hot, cold and shower diverter) and one in the basement with a single knob for water adjustment. The main floor shower receives an o.k. amount of hot water but as the shower time goes along it keeps decreasing and I have to keep turning the cold side down. The basement shower doesn't ever receive hardly any hot water and when you're turning the knob to adjust the temp the water completely shuts off inbetween the hot and cold water "areas." After a bit of research online and here on the forum I'm making an assumption that perhaps there is a problem with the anti-scald valves that are installed. Actually I can't be 100% sure they are installed because I don't know 1--what they look like and 2--how to disassemble each shower knob (or IF I do) to find out. I can only assume because it had to be up to code to sell they would have to be there. So, assuming we have an anti-scald valve on each shower and there's no hot water problem at the sinks in the whole house, WHAT is wrong with my showers ???? :mad:

Keep in mind I'm limited in my plumbing jargon but I know it may be helpful to know if the anti-scald valves are pressure balanced or thermostatic. But of course I have no idea how to find out what each of these are and what they look like.

Any help any of you can provide is much appreciated. thank you!

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Probably more than one problem...