Is it compression or sweat fitting? Also, using SharkBite?

Users who are viewing this thread

DavidV_NC

Reaction score
I have a leaking toilet valve which I plan to replace. I just bought my first house so I'm new to plumbing DYI. I have two questions:

1. I'm thinking of using a SharkBite angle stop (http://www.sharkbite.com/product/angle-stops/) Anyone out there have good or bad reviews to share? All the reviews I've seen are positive, but I wondered if anyone here had used them.

2. I don't know if the old angle stop was attached using a compression or sweat fitting. Obviously that would affect how I would remove it, and I didn't know if there's a way to tell? (Sorry if that is a dumb question. They look roughly the same as far as I can tell.) I've attached a photo of the fitting.

Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_20150225_174343.jpg
    IMG_20150225_174343.jpg
    53 KB · Views: 811

Reach4

Reaction score
I think you are assuming the worst.

Maybe I would be wrong, but I would just remove the flex hose, and then try to unscrew the valve by using an open end wrench. I would try to apply torque with the wrench while minimizing other forces. That means I would be pressing CCW on the end of the handle while applying counter force with the other hand to the fitting end of the wrench to counter side force. Most likely one end or the other of the nipple will come loose. Maybe the end in the wall comes loose. No problem. You can replace the nipple when you put your new 1/4 turn ball valve in place.

Replace the escutcheon while you have things apart.

Maybe you should maybe wait for a plumber to offer a suggestion before cranking on the pipes and fittings.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score