Is a cover for an a/c unit worthwhile in the winter?

Users who are viewing this thread

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Some people cover their a/c units in the winter, some never do. Does it ultimately help to prolong the life of the thing, and if so, is it more likely to be important on some brands/models than others?

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
I have no personal experience with this but in thinking about it, blowing snow often contains salt and soot residue, so a cover would protect the unit from the increased potential for corrosion that such foreign substances can cause. On the other hand, if a cover is installed which is sealed too well, it could trap moisture during swings in temperature/humidity. A cover that allows airflow through the unit might be a worthwhile investment.

Reaction score
I vaguely recall a good HVAC contractor telling me not to use one of these covers, but I don't remember why clearly. I think it was a matter of condensation being trapped in the unit's wiring and fan resulting in earlier failure of these external components. If it was left open, liquid moisture would not be trapped inside for months like it could be with the cover. I didn't plan to cover mine so I didn't give it another thought.

I did shut off the crankcase heater in my dual stage unit during winter by flipping the breaker. The CCH for that unit was there to prevent flooded starts in heat pump mode but was wired up even for AC only installs. For dual stage this was a 40W heater for each compressor that kicked in below 60 F as memory served. I didn't see any reason to burn 80W continuous and the HVAC contractor confirmed that it was okay to shut it down as long as I gave it 24 hours on before starting up when AC weather returned. (I did measure/confirm the draw before and after turning it off.)

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score