Irrigation Pump Installation

Users who are viewing this thread

Duke76

Reaction score
I recently purchased a lake home with an underground irrigation system on city water. The system has four 4-zone controllers (3 different brands) so I assume it was installed over a number of years.

The former owner (a home builder by profession) had purchased a pump which is sitting uninstalled on the dock. He also tied in PVC pipe to the irrigation system. This pipe stops at the shorline. He installed wiring in conduit from the house to a power pole at lakeside but the wire has not been tied into the circuit breaker box. He also purchased a Hunter relay.

I'm now looking to complete the installation and I'm trying to understand what his plan was but he's unavailable to answer questions.

First Question (finally)--The pump has a pressure switch which I understand will turn the pump on when an irrigation valve opens and the pressure drops. Why would a relay be required and where would it be installed ?

Second Question--The lake level fluctuates by 10 feet over the course of a year. What kind of piping should I use to connect the pump to the PVC on the shoreline ? Its about 40 feet away.

Thank you for your help.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
pump

The pressure switch will turn the pump off, momentarily, when it supplies more water than the system can use. It will also cause it to cycle on and off rapidly if the pump is much too large for the water being used. The relay is to allow the irrigation controller, which is low voltage, to turn on the pumps high voltage power.

Duke76

Reaction score
I currently have four separate controllers. Do I need to replace the four with one controller connected to the relay ?

Wet_Boots

Sprinkler Guy
Reaction score
You can obtain flexible PVC tubing for the pump suction line. Figure inch-and-a-half for a minimum size on this.