Iron and hydrogen sulphide - is this a crazy idea?

Users who are viewing this thread

Jeremy Harris

Reaction score
OK, I'm a novice at this stuff, and I've spent over a year learning as much as I can about wells and treatment, mainly as they are rare here in England and good advice is really hard to find. I started life as a chemist, so understand the basic oxidation reactions that are used to convert hydrogen sulphide to sulphur that precipitates out and ferrous iron to ferric iron that also precipitates out. This seems to be what all the commercial iron and H2S filter system do, oxidise and then filter out (or just let the precipitates settle out).

I've read a couple of threads on here and looked at the web site, for a venturi air injection device that squirts highly oxygenated water back down the well, which then encourages oxidation in the well itself of H2S and probably ferrous iron ("clear" iron) as well. I've read the mixed views, but nothing seems to indicate that this system doesn't basically work. The downsides seem to be that it uses a small amount of pump water 24/7, so the pump works a tiny bit longer and that the top of the well may get some additional iron and sulphur precipitates, as it injects right at the well head.

This got me thinking. I have an electrical box in my well head chamber (which is what I think you guys may refer to as a "pitless head", a concrete chamber covered with a lid with the well liner sticking up from the base with a cap over where the pipe and cable comes out). This has switched power to it and a water proof connector that connects to the pump cable, to make changing the pump simpler. There's room on the electrical box for a second connector, and the underground feed cable's big enough to supply three or four pumps. There's also some spare room in this chamber, as the 5" well liner comes up near one corner and the chamber is around 18" x 24" internally.