Installing shower head far from valve

Users who are viewing this thread

GatorKenD

Reaction score
Hi all - I want to install my Moen 2590 shower valve on the back wall of my shower and my shower head on the front wall of the shower (7' away). There's no tub spout; this is a shower only.

I'm guessing that Moen's precise instructions regarding placement distances are related to backpressure between the tub spout and the shower head. But, thought it would best to ask here. Any problem with this arrangement?

One more: The install instructions make reference to "shower only." I assume I'll just put a plug in the tub port of the 4-port valve. I'm not missing anything, am I?

Thanks,
Ken

Last edited:

Pmaru77

Reaction score
I don't see anything wrong with that. Just plug the bottom outlet for the tub. Then it's just a simple valve. But I'm no expert.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Tub/Shower Moen instructions
Position the valve body 32 inches from the floor of the tub basin. The shower arm should be placed 78 inches above the floor of the tub basin (recommended installation of the shower arm is with a flanged elbow fitting – not included – and attached to a wood brace). The tub spout is to be no less than 6 inches and no greater than 11 inches below the valve. If installing a threaded tub spout, connect to the valve with 1/2 inch pipe or 1/2 inch copper tubing with a threaded adapter. If installing a slip-fit tub spout, connect to the valve with only copper tubing – no threaded adapter is needed.

For a shower head only, this doesn't apply. You're fine.
You can port from the shower side or the tub side on the valve. The tub side has more output, but shower heads are restricted anyway.
The unused port gets capped.

Pmaru77

Reaction score