Installing new tub - newbie questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Todd77

Reaction score
Hey guys. Newbie here and first time posting to the forum. I am installing a new tub and while the manufacturer recommends a mortar bed, I am unsure if I should add weight on the inside of the tub while it cures.
- Is it standard practice to do this?
- Also, is it a big concern that I have to shim the front apron about 1/2 inch for everything to be completely level? I believe that the ditra mat and thinset plus tile up against the tub will take care of that gap.
- Also, if someone could point me to to a detailed installation procedure that would be very helpful.

Thanks so much!

Atomic1

Reaction score
I believe the only time you'd want to weigh it down is if you used sprayfoam (because the foam will try to lift the tub). When I set mine, i didn't weigh it down. The more critical part is getting a big enough mound and laying the tub into the mound in one shot, and level without re-lifting the tub (so you dont create a space between the mortar and bottom of tub)

plastic down first to prevent the subfloor from sucking out moisture from the mortar as it cures, and I wouldn't put anything too heavy in it for at least 7 days so the mortar has a chance to develop some strength....that said, you do want to test it a little after a day or two to make sure nothing squeaks or rocks. It is easy to pull the tub up and redo in that first week before the mortar cures.

I think 1/2" gap is ok. Consider using composite shims and then when you set your tile, shove thinset in the gap.

Todd77

Reaction score
I believe the only time you'd want to weigh it down is if you used sprayfoam (because the foam will try to lift the tub). When I set mine, i didn't weigh it down. The more critical part is getting a big enough mound and laying the tub into the mound in one shot, and level without re-lifting the tub (so you dont create a space between the mortar and bottom of tub)