Installing a new faucet, pressure seems too high going from Flowtite piping into new metal piping

Users who are viewing this thread

rorytmeadows

Reaction score
Hey everyone. Complete noobie when it comes to anything plumbing but I feel like this could be an easier fix and I'm just missing something simple. I've scoured the internet for days.

I bought a new faucet for the bathroom sink:
StarSide Bathroom Sink Faucet

The specs are here:

Pullout Spray
Installation Type:Centerset
Installation Holes:One Hole
Number of Handles:Single Handle
Finish:Chrome
Style:Contemporary
Flow Rate:2 GPM (7.57 L/min)
Valve Type:Ceramic Valve
Cold and Hot Switch:Yes
Overall Height:174 mm(6.85")
Spout Height:120mm(4.72")
Spout Length:150mm(5.91")
Spout Width:90mm(3.54")
Faucet center:Single Hole
Faucet center:Single Hole
Faucet Body Material:Brass
Faucet Spout Material:Glass
Faucet Handle Material:Brass
LED Power Source:Battery
LED Color:Blue
LED turns Green between:0-30 (32-86)
LED turns Blue between:30-40 (86-104)
LED turns Red between:40-50 (104-122)
LED begins flashing between:50-100 (122-212)
Valve included:Yes
Drain included:No
Net Weight (kg):1.35
Shipping Weight (kg):1.5

index.php

Of course my newer home contains the Flowtite valves and tubing. I install it correctly, have to get a couple small connectors to get the one end onto the other that seemed to fit well.

After installing, turning the water back on results in what seems like too much pressure and it leaks from the Flowtite tubing (in the direction of the Flowtite tubing mostly). This even occurs when the faucet is fully open. I tried simple silicon tape wrapped pretty tightly, but it starts to bubble up.

Am I missing something easy? Thank you in advance.

RTM

Last edited by a moderator:

rorytmeadows

Reaction score
I have heard that before, but hoping to avoid it. Right now, after PTFE tape, the only leak seems to be out of the base of the plastic IPS nut, spraying in the direction of the tubing.