HVAC Condensate Drain Line Question

Users who are viewing this thread

Philwgreen

Reaction score
In my continuing effort to inspect (and fix where necessary) the work of the previous homeowner's plumbing - I came across this in the crawl space.

The HVAC unit is in the attic and the primary condensation line runs through the wall and end up in the crawl space. As you can see in the attached picture, there is a trap coming off of the main stack and the condensation line runs directly into it.

So, the questions are:

1. From what I've read, I would think at a minimum there needs to be an air gap between the two right? How big of a gap should there be? Shouldn't there be a flared end (not sure of the technical term) on the top of the pipe running vertically from the trap?

2. Is the trap and the way it connects to the stack done correctly?

Thanks for any help in advance!

condensate_drain_01.jpg
condensate_drain_02.jpg

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not a pro, but it looks to me like you have an S trap. Now pros may disagree, but it is my understanding that there must be a vent between the P trap and prior to the line making a downward turn. The 45 you have between the P trap and the main drain makes the S trap. I think the air gap is OK, again keep posted for pros to comment.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Your system does NOT put condensation into the trap 365 days a year. THEREFORE, when it is not doing it, the trap seal dries out and your blower draws sewer gas odors into the system and blows them throughout the house. The condensate should either dump on to the ground outside the residence or connect to the sewer system through a trap which DOES have water usage, such as a sink or laundry drain. In the event of a sewer stoppage, ALL the drainage will overflow that trap and flood the crawlspace, but you will not know it has happened until the odor gets overpowering.

Philwgreen

Reaction score