How to turn on sprinkler system.

Users who are viewing this thread

Sean J

Reaction score
I moved into home with a sprinkler system and I am having trouble operating this system as this is my first home with a sprinkler system. I tried to select 'All Stations ON' from the control unit but nothing happened so I assume that it must be turned off somewhere. I have taken pictures of the backflow preventer and the in-ground box, so I am hoping that someone can instruct me on how to turn on my system. Currently the in-ground valves are turned to the off position, even when I turned it to the 'On' position the sprinkler system would not turn on. This is my first time working with a sprinkler system so any help/advice is greatly appreciated. Thx

Last edited by a moderator:

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Do you have water going to the valves ? There should be a water cut off near the main feed.

The controller may not be able to provide enough power for 'All Stations ON'

Good Luck.

Sean J

Reaction score
Do you have water going to the valves ? There should be a water cut off near the main feed.

The controller may not be able to provide enough power for 'All Stations ON'

Good Luck.

Hi, the main water shut off valve is located in my garage but I do not see any other valve going to the sprinkler system. Where else do they typically install it? I checked all over my lawn but all I see is the 'in ground' valve box.

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Hi, the main water shut off valve is located in my garage but I do not see any other valve going to the sprinkler system. Where else do they typically install it? I checked all over my lawn but all I see is the 'in ground' valve box.

Normally they put them in a location where a Lawn Maintenance crew can turn them off to care for the lawn.

Near a outdoor water hose connection maybe.

Can you post a picture of the 'in ground' valve box ?

Flapper

Reaction score