How to best control well pump and cistern

Users who are viewing this thread

Zef_66

Reaction score
Greetings!

So I am just getting started building a house. The first thing to go in was the well. We will have electricity, but not until the house is well under way. So I have been thinking about installing a water tank to pump water into and use by gravity until the house is complete. When everything is done, we can use the water from the tank if the electricity goes out without having to run a generator all the time. So I have attached a picture of a rough sketch of my situation. I have a 2 wire 3/4hp pump, 230V pump. I will be running 1" 160psi black poly line from the pump to the water tank, and back down to a yard hydrant. I can handle all that.

But what I am unsure about is how to best control the well pump. I know I will be using a float of some sort. But do I run 8 or 10 ga wire, 230VAC all the way up the hill to the tank and allow the float to break the connection that way? Or do I use a transformer to step down voltage from 120VAC to 12VAC or 24VAC, run 12ga stranded wire up the hill to a float switch, and back down to a relay to control the 230V for the pump? Which is the best and cheapest way to get this done?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

Reach4

Reaction score
I presume the breaker box is in the house. More than one way. I would be leaning toward a relay at the house, and controlling that with 120 VAC or 240 VAC switched at the tank. The other one I would look at is having 24 vac relay at the house switched at the tank.

Zef_66

Reaction score