How hard to tighten Black Iron pipe?

Users who are viewing this thread

Msgale

Reaction score
I have read many posts on how tight to make one inch black iron pipe, and posts where people address pro and con of tape vs. dope.
Recently installing hydronic system, I had some small leaks.
Variety of sources of pipe: big box stores, and plumbers supply shops. Some china, some usa.
I used pipe dope, not tape.

Question: for average strength 150 pound man, and a 14 inch pipe wrench,
do I tighten:

As hard as I can using arms and shoulder and weight of my body on wrench?
Do I use a longer wrench, as hard as I can?
am I capable or over tightening it myself?
Can I break anything?

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not a pro and it's possible some of them will chime in here with more scientific data, but I use 24" pipe wrenches and pipe dope alone. I turn the until I can't turn anyone. Is there a risk of breaking the pipe? Can't say for sure, but I've never broken a pipe by tightening too tight. I'd say that with a 14" wrench, you need to put the muscle to it. If it moves, give it some more.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The answer to all your questions is "yes" although it would take some doing to damage the pipe or fittings.

Like hj mentions. Some of this varies so much between people.
If you have ever rebuilt an engine, then you have an idea of how little torque it takes for install a cylinder head.
Those have torque wrenches and the setting for the bolt tightness.
It just takes practice to get these things right.

I've had bad fittings before, that's kind of out of a persons control.
And I've had fittings and pipes that need R & R before.

I like using the Teflon paste sealant on gas threads.
But if you ask enough times, you will hear every variation there is.

Tape and then paste works too.

progress.gif

Winslow

Plumber
Reaction score