How hard to replace 40 gallon gas water heater with 50 gallon?

Users who are viewing this thread

tracyballard

Reaction score
Hello - I'm about to have to replace a tall 40 gallon water heater that's on it's last legs. The old water heater was installed in 2011, but a pipe above it started leaking and water ran down the sides and into the vent holes, totally soaking the inner insulation and making it impossible to burn without the "sealed" combustion chamber propped wide open. Even so, it doesn't stay lit very well and has to be relit two or 3 times a day, and the piezo igniter is failing now.

So, I'm looking at replacing this thing with a Rheem tall 50 gallon from Home Depot, and I was wondering how hard it would be. I'm an auto mechanic and have all the tools I would need (except for a propane torch, if needed), but I don't have a whole lot of experience with water heaters.

First - the current heater has a big square drip pan underneath it, about 22 inches square or a little bigger - will this size work for the new 5o gallon heater?

Second - the current heater has flexible copper tubing connections on top, and flexible steel at the gas connection - would it be possible that all I have to do is set the new heater in place and screw the current fittings onto the new unit?

thanks for any advice I can get!!! (other than to call a professional, I know I probably should and I'm thinking about it).

Reach4

Reaction score
First, I suggest that you could best answer this with a tape measure and a trip to the store. Consider putting a loud water alarm into the pan to give an earlier warning.