How do you make professional looking hinge cuts in a new door slab?

Users who are viewing this thread

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
I've always used hammer and chisel to make hinge and striker plate cutouts. I've recently purchased a Dremel and a Rotozip and I want to be able to make professional looking cutouts. Problem is, I've never used a router before. What's the best way to cut out the edges and then clean out the material in a way that looks professional?

Thanks,
Eric

Prashster

Reaction score
You have to get some type of mortising bit for your rototool. That bit should have a bushing that can follow a guide.

Then you can either buy a hinge mortising guide or you can make one out of plywood.

IMHO it's more easily done with a router since it'll be more stable in this capacity.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
I dont know if dremel makes a mortising bit. It's usuall done with a router. In either case , you need a jig that attaches to the door to guide the bit. You cannot do it freehand.

Jigs can be anything from a little plastic gizmo to do one at a time.....to a professional jig that sets all three hinges at the right point, both on the door and on the jam, for perfect assembly.

Prashster

Reaction score
Unless you are doing this professionally and often (read, more than one a week) then don't invest in the 3-hinge-at-a-time guide. It'd be cheaper to buy a whole new prehung door and jamb!

I bought a "butt marking" template. You line it up where the hinge should be, strike it a couple times and then manually chip out the center. It sucked. I found it easier to manually trace the hinge and chisel it out the old fashioned way.

If yr only doing a few hinges, then your best bet is investing in a great wood chisel. A sharp chisel can make very clean cuts with minimal effort.

If yr hinges have rounded corners, don't get hung up on following the curve exactly. Cut it square. Trust me, nobody but you will notice it.

Chassis

Engineer
Reaction score