How Do I Grout This Decorative Tile

Users who are viewing this thread

DougB

Reaction score
I'm using Lactricrete Grout. 'They' told me that the 'sand' in this grout is round - and will not scratch the glass. My other concern is that I won't be able to get the grout out of the embossed / natural stone tiles.

I'm an engineer from Lehigh - and I don't believe the 'round' sand thing. Maybe I'm old fashioned.

We have about 16 sq/ft - my wife wanted this - I was thinking - well Dear, you gotta put blue tape over the glass and embossed tile.

I think I could guilt her into doing it!

Take a look:

Decorative_Tile.jpg

Last edited:

JohnfrWhipple

BATHROOM DESIGN & BUILD
Reaction score
I kill me.

Doug - try scratch the tile. Try a brass wire brush. Bet you don't. Then when your grouting use this same brush to clean out the groves. If you do scratch the tile - which you won't then be very very careful....

Then go get some chips.... For your wife. She will have the munchies soon.

Last edited:

ShowerDude

Showers
Reaction score
Doug...Go ahead and grout sanded. USE bottled water...Use a softer float and dont lose any sleep. Dont overwater and dont keep over sponging it. Know when to stop and you will win....use patience and hyper focus.

On a sealing note....... DO NOT USE 511 impregnator from Miracle sealants if you want the illusion of a warranty "dream"

Miracle failed to back up their warranty with me by deluding me with forms to fill out, emails, and deadlines, scare tacticts and might i say insulting uneducated sounding telephone tech support. Not even a replacement bottle of sealer offered from the factory.......Dupont is making some solid sealing and cleaning products......