Home Security

Users who are viewing this thread

Hunter01

Reaction score
Not sure where to post this, but have received great advice on other topics here, so here goes: I'd like to install a local (no connection to the police/fire) alarm system in my house. One that would detect movement inside the house and sound an alarm. Any advice on a good system; one that's reliable - I've done some searching on-line but find the reviews full of systems that aren't.

DIYer101

Reaction score
I'm not a security expert (just DIYer) so do plenty of research... but I set up a basic system with MiCasaVerde.

Any of the z-wave networks might do what you want, but MCV sounded the most customizable, and I was willing to do some of the programming. If you want it to be easy and simple, you can say: if it's night, and the motion detectors sense motion, make the alarm go off (maybe only sound the alarm for a few minutes unless you really want to get the neighbors' attention).

It's not 100% reliable. In my mind it's 95% good and that's good enough given all the tradeoffs. I just want something that (almost always - and hopefully that'll be never...) will make the standard intruder decide that he's made a mistake and head elsewhere. If an FBI agent wants to rob us, I figure we've got bigger problems. We're not interesting targets - I mostly did it for when I'm away and my wife is home alone.

I can tell you that whenever I forget to disarm the system and I go wandering into areas that are monitored, the alarm always goes off. But it's a computer, and glitches are possible.

Equipment you'd need:
- A "brain" or z-wave hub (MCV or Smarthings or whatever brand you choose). Maybe $100 or so
- Motion detectors (and/or window/door sensors). About $40 each
- A siren. Maybe $50

I've also set up light switches and do the porchlights on timers (and have a few motion detectors set outside, even though they're not built for that - they're under the eaves). All that is controlled by the z-wave hub.