Help_Need Advice Please_Septic Tank

Users who are viewing this thread

LostSoul

Reaction score
I am new here. I hope I am posting in the right forum. Here is my problem now. I will try to explain it as simply as I know how since I am a newbie when it comes to these sorts of things. I am ok until something goes wrong and then I panic, LOL.

Ok, here is the problem now. I don't live in the city limits, so I can not connect to city water and sewer. My water is ok. I had a deep well dug many years ago so I should have decent water for some time to come. The problem is my septic tank. The septic tank is over 30 years old I think. I have had 4 mobile homes in this same spot since I purchased the 5 acres of land and moved here. All 4 mobile homes have been connected to this same septic tank.

The problem is my septic tank is not draining. Thankfully, it is not backing up in the house yet. There is just a huge wet spot in the front yard. I just had it pumped out again and it is overflowing again. I suppose the effluent is not being drained via the leach field where it is reabsorbed into the earth.

My questions now.

1. Do those online bacteria products that advertise to unclog things and reopen up your drainfield work and are they worth it in your opinion? Some have money back guarantees.

2. I hear that if the drainfied needs to be dug up and replaced, that pricetag could run anywhere between 5 and 15 thousand dollars. Ouch! That is a lot of money and I don't have a lot of money. LOL Is this true?

3. Maybe the septic tank and the leachfield need replacing? How likely is this? Isn't the septic tank itself just a large concrete container recessed in the earth. Why would it ever need replacing?

4. My mother lives with me and has flowers planted all over the place, one right by the septic tank. Image I imagine these sorts of things will just add to the cost if they are in the way b/c these things have to be dug up.

5. If you were me, what would you try doing 1st?