Help me identify this anglestop valve

Users who are viewing this thread

vivix

Reaction score
We're finally getting round to installing our new toto drake and the fountain of wisdom on this board recommends replacing the supply line and the shut off valve. I've read that we also need brass closet bolts. I need help with the following:
1. what type and size of shut off valve we currently have? (See attached photo)
I only have access to home depot and lowes, A. what replacement shut off valve should I get from there. I'm confused by all the options?
B. What braided steel or not supply line should I get?
C. What wax ring? A simple one or one with sleeves/horn?
D. What size of closet bolts?
E. Home depot only has the locticite polyseamseal in bulk. What good alternative to that does HD carry?
Thanks.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    46.5 KB · Views: 353

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro....

A. Your picture is not clear. It may be a compression connection. You want a quarter turn ball valve for the replacement. They are more reliable than the multi-turn.

B. See third picture of https://terrylove.com/forums/index....g-one-piece-toilet-review-and-pictures.56203/ for a good example.

C. Depends on what you have going on under the toilet. A waxless choice may be better for the inexperienced if the clearance is right. With wax it is important to not lift after you set down the toilet. You want to use shims, and that would take some technique to avoid de-compressing wax.

D. Diameter not so important probably, but brass is preferred over plated steel or plastic.

E. Dap Dynaflex clear looks like a good candidate. Latex. Others may have experience with others, and offer a better choice.

Last edited:

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
B. What braided steel or not supply line should I get?

Measure it to see. It is hard to measure from here. To long is better than to short.