Help!! Leaking shower

Users who are viewing this thread

Lovejoy

Reaction score
Hi all.
I am in desperate need of help. My husband is a carpenter (master) by trade and incredibly good at what he does......most of the time.
He built a shower for me. He put down rubber sheet on floor and poured concrete on top of that. He got plenty of slope in it ( I think), but the damn thing leaks in one corner. I have done everything I can think of to do. Specialty sealers, swimming pool stuff over grout. It will stop it for a short while, and it starts again.
I mentioned recently having a professional come in and re-do it. He hit the roof. But its been leaking for a couple of years, it's going to turn into a major issue at some point if not already!
I can't get him to re-do it. I guess he does it all day and doesn't want to come home and do it.
I need something that I can do to fix it.
I have been researching epoxy waterproof coatings etc. I don't have to re-do the whole shower do I? I'm not physically able to do that. I'm hoping to find something that I can get in a color to somewhat match my tile in shower and basically paint it on shower floor and maybe 8-10" up the wall. He also built a seat in it for me.
Please help! I can use his shower to allow mine to dry completely, I just NEED - want to get this fixed.
I did try a clear coating of some type he brought home, its awful. Makes my tiles look stained with soap scum and I've been working to get that all off. Have a ways to go yet.
I am disabled and it takes me a while to get things done, but I really want to fix this. Any suggestions???

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
We do not know what he did in the construction of the shower, but if the pan is not waterproof or the attachment between the pan and drain was not made correctly, the only right thing to do is to cut it out and rebuild it.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com