Heater turning off

Users who are viewing this thread

ugean

Reaction score
Hello,

I saw some other questions for my heater on here and figured I would sign up and ask about my problem. I have a
Takagi T-KJr2-IN-NG Indoor Tankless Water Heater, Natural Gas
system I installed about a week ago. I did the job myself, and please don't say get a professional. I've done plenty of plumbing in the past and will continue to do it myself. I'm a mechanic and own all the tools I need for the most part. I'm not your normal home owner. I do all my own construction too.

The heater was working fine for a week passed all startup tests. It has 3/4" gas line (freshly run I did all my own threading from stock) connected with a flex line; no leaks. 1/2" water as that is what my whole house is plumbed with, its an old house. Ran a new electrical box. Vented with 4" double wall. Immediate 90 then 24" out an old window above the unit. Terminal outside with a blowback valve built in.

Yesterday it started acting up. If i exceed 3.2 GPM the burner shuts down and fails to reignite giving me an error code 12 "loss of flame". So I did some trouble shooting. No other appliances are on all testing is done and the sink 10' away. Below is what I have done:

Cleaned inlet filter (It was clean)
Disconnected gas line and inspected screen it is clean.
Reset unit of course
Inspected vent line no issues blows out just fine.
The book says to test part #'s 412 (flame sensor) but does not give the specs.
Says to check a bunch of the wires everything checked out.
Doesn't look like there is anything wrong with the board.
Flame rod looks good (its brand new).
Flame looks good through the viewing window. Blue maybe occasionally a flicker of orange but doesn't appear to be any lift off.

Settings 122 degrees input temp 68 output temp 118-122

With #6 switch off
1.8-2.9 GMP it works fine
3.2 GMP it will run for anywhere from 1-3 minutes lose flame but reignites and runs fine.