Had the flapper replaced now issues

Users who are viewing this thread

Carmin

Reaction score
Hi: this is my first time on your site, I was doing a search and lucky found it. My first issue is I had my flapper replaced on an old American Standard toilet just last week and now after a few hours the unit generates water to make up for loss water. I put some coloring in the tank and noticed that the color flows into the bowl. It can take anywhere from 1 to 4 hours. I had a plumber do the work since the cut off values were also replaced. Do you have any suggestions? Any assistance would be appreciated. Ciao for now PS:I have a few more questions which I will post separately.

Carmin

Reaction score
I have some pictures hope it helps a little.

Attachments

• 1488922582327.jpg
    1488922582327.jpg
    32.4 KB · Views: 301
  • 1488922582938.jpg
    1488922582938.jpg
    39 KB · Views: 305
  • 20170307_094819.jpg
    20170307_094819.jpg
    59.3 KB · Views: 294

Reach4

Reaction score
You could take a cloth, and rub the seat where the black rubber thing sits. The plan would be to remove any debris.

Looking at your photos, it looks like there is wire rod that actually lifts the black thing. In most flappers, a chain, which is limp, is used to lift the flapper. In your case, I think your black thing is not really a flapper as such, but rather is a "tank ball". Does your toilet ever require the use of a plunger? If so, you might want to consider just getting that toilet replaced with a newer model. The new ones work better usually. A new toilet every 40 years is worthwhile.

index.php

Last edited by a moderator:

Carmin

Reaction score
Hi Reach4: I tried to use a cloth to wipe the crime away but it is still an issue. It is more of a tank ball; sorry to mislead you I just did not know the term. As far as replacing the toilet, it is an American Standard sea foam green (which is impossible to replace or find and goes with the color of the bathroom)
clip_image001.png