Groaning toilet

Users who are viewing this thread

nichom

Reaction score
Hi, we had a new bathroom put in about four years ago and have had no problems, however, for about the last six months every so often when we flush the toilet we hear a loud groaning noise. The only way to stop it is if you open the sink tap whilst the toilet is refilling. A colleauge suggested that it was an air pocket in the pipe.

Our bathroom is fully tiled and I would prefer not to have to take up the flooring. Is there any simple way of removing the trapped air without having to cut/replace the pipe?

I have limited / no plumbing experience.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Here is what others have said

titanic.jpg

My husband replaced the inside things in the tank of the toilet, and now when it is flushed it sounds like a tuba
in the walls. I'm growing tried of the tune. HELP !!!!! Sherri

Sherri:---Tell your Husband that "Tuba Toilets" are passe and tacky. Insist that he take the nuisance noisemaker back to whence he got it forth with. There are excellent bargains to be had by the watchful buyer. A "Silver Flute" or possibly an authentic "Penny Whistle" might be more appealing to Madames impeccable tastes?
For those however who consider silence "Golden", you should instruct your husband to purchase a ballcock of known quality lest he invite unwanted
noises to emanate from the bathroom.
Just one thing before you send your Lord of the Manor on this quest for a quiet flushing loo.
Ascertain that he has in fact fully opened the water supply valve to the "China Throne"..Bud..

WHY IS THE PIPES IN MY TOLIET AREA VIBRATING AT ALL TIMES THROUGHOUT THE DAY? IT SOUNDS LIKE THE TITANIC.
IT DRIVES ME CRAZY! THANKS FOR YOUR HELP. ANGIE

Angie,
Your Titanic toilet is leaking at the flapper. Replace the flapper with a good quality 5-year flapper, and replace the fill valve (ballcock). When replacing the fill valve, get a new supply tube.