Gould 1 HP pump / wellxtrol wx250 with sprinkler pressure issues.

Users who are viewing this thread

AirCactus

Reaction score
I am a novice with wells and related and have an issue with a well pump and sprinkler system

I have used this installed system for many years with both household and the sprinkler systems with no problems-- up to now.
Having been gone for a few days, I returned to no water pressure. I could not get the pressure control valve to make up and run the pump unless I held a little switch down on the top of it down, and when I let it up, the pump would quit. I replaced the pressure control valve with a similar 30 - 50 psi switch with a control arm on the side, auto - on - off.

First thing I noticed was that I had to hold the side lever until the pressure in the tank built up to 30, and then the pump would continue on until 50 and shut down. System is operating normal with household usage, and a single outdoor hose bib outlet

The problem is that once the sprinkler system it turned on, pressure drops about 10 psi in about 5 seconds, and then continues to drop to 30 psi - and the pump turns on. Pressure builds up to about 40 with zone one activated, and then when zone 1 closed and zone 2 opens, pressure drops again to about 30, starts to rise again but will not build back much past 35. By the time zone 2 shuts down, and zone 3 starts, the pressure drops again to about 30 and holds at 30 until zone 3 shuts and zone 4 starts. Pressure with zone 4 drops below 30 and so on until there is no pressure, and the bladder tank runs empty. There was never an issue like this with the older control valve and you could apply power to the system when empty and it would turn on and pump up without any manual effort involved.