Geberit in-wall tank in commercial application?

Users who are viewing this thread

julietmv

Reaction score
I'm an architect and have specified a Geberit in-wall flush down tank with a wall-hung toilet (to be either Villeroy + Boch or Duravit).

My question is this: are these installations meant only for residential applications? I've specified them before in high-end residential work.

I'd like to use these toilets in the bathrooms near the pool area at a country club. I like the style options available for the toilet bowls that work with the Geberit carriers. The looks of most typical flush valve toilets are terrible and too institutional. I don't want to use an American Standard or Kohler flush valve. I also don't want the 20" chase dimension -- the toilets are back-to-back, and I'd much rather have (2) 2x6 walls back-to-back.

I have concerns about maintenance for the toilets and durability in a high-moisture, commercial setting. The plumber who is a sub for our contractor has concerns about these -- I'm sure due to a lack of familiarity.

Can anybody offer some advice?

Many thanks!

Dcelite

Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.merchantcircle.com
In CA you'd have to check the specs to make sure it's ADA compliant to use it for that application. As for the durability, it may be questionable because the Duravit has only two bolts to hang the toilet, where as the typical wall mount toilet has four hanger bolts. Also, the Geberit bolts are smaller diameter than the traditional bolts (Geberit~3/8 bolts; traditional ~ 5/8 bolts).

JohnfrWhipple

BATHROOM DESIGN & BUILD
Reaction score
Wall hung toilets

I have installed a few of these in the past couple of years.

Back when we did the first one I check in on this forum and followed the advice of doubling the 2"x6" studs for help with deflection.