Gas water heaters

Users who are viewing this thread

Steve_P

Reaction score
two questions
I have a ~14 yr old US Craftsmaster natl gas water htr that's working fine but figured now is a good time to replace it before a catastrophic failure. I believe the tank lining is deteriorating as I noticed blue chips when I last drained it.

So, I've done as much research as possible and plumbers love the Bradford White- which it also seems that I can't buy directly. I will need to do a DIY install so I assume that I probably won't be able to get a BW w/o having a plumber install. Is this correct, or will a local plumber sell me one? (I am in TN) BTW, I can sweat copper tube, etc. so the install should be no problem for me.

If I can't get a BW, it looks like my choices are the GE from Home Depot, or a Kenmore from Sears. I know not to go to Lowes and get a Whirlpool from the huge thread here.

I'd rather not deal with Sears and ordering, etc. So, is the GE a reasonable choice? I did see the Weilhammer plumbing list and it looks to be the best a consumer can purchase. So, to the pros, if you were a consumer doing a DIY install would you buy the GE?

All of the current models are ~10" taller than mine so I will need to shorten the exhaust vent- which runs vertically from the basement and thru the first floor closet and out the roof. How can I do this? TIA.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
The GE is made by Rheem, a very good brand. I think the Kenmores are made by a division of AO Smith, parent of the famous Whirlpools.

Shortening the vent is easy if that portion is single wall galv. If it is double wall b vent, you cannot cut it, you need to get smaller sections and fit them in.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score