Fuse Box Question

Users who are viewing this thread

RonP

Reaction score
Hello. I joined TL Forums to ask plumbing questions, and remembered that there was an electrical section, too. So, I have a question about my breaker box.

I live in a mobile home, and I have mapped out my breaker box. For whatever reason, nearly one third of the entire home is going through one single 15 amp breaker. By comparison, the 15 amp breaker directly below it is controlling nothing more than one single bathroom light and fan!
It seems ridiculous to me.

In the summertime, I have to choose between running my portable AC, and using either an electric smoker or a countertop oven outside in my driveway without blowing the 15 amp breaker. (Using the portable oven out in the driveway to keep from heating up the house even more.)

What I would like to know is if it would be a big deal to change out the 15 amp breaker for a 20 amp one. I am not an electrician, but I am in charge of maintenance where I work. I have changed out many lamp ballasts, switches, and outlets in my time. Sometimes without even cutting the power because of downtime issues. Maybe that's why I have the common sense to ask experts about this before just assuming doing this would be okay. Anyway, my point is that I am not afraid of doing some DIY.

Thank you for any advice.

Breplum

Licensed plumbing contractor
Reaction score
Breakers are sized specifically to match load compatibility and wiring size.
A 15A breaker will normally have #14 romex and serve lighting only, and 20A will have #12 (thicker wire).
NEVER upsize your breaker if you cannot see all the wire in question.
Mircowave or other kitchen outlets should be 20A circuits.
I am not an electrician.

Afjes

Reaction score
Meanwhile does my original post's reasoning logically support the idea that it's better to put 2 wires in one pressure plate terminal due to increased and more even holding torque?
DON'T DO THIS.