from bath remodel to replacing whole house plumbing

Users who are viewing this thread

gibbie

real estate investor/rehabber
Reaction score
Hello,

I began with a bathroom remodel and now I am slowly replacing all supply and drain/vent lines too. I have several questions that I have not been able to locate the answers to on this forum.
I am replacing my copper with cpvc, it is easier for me, and I would like to start at the meter inside the basement. I have some experience from a couple of rentals I was able to practice on, thanks to the "ABSQUATULATE" of the copper. I have had no leaks or problems after a couple of years now.

I noticed the existing 3/4" copper line begins with about a 12" length of 1/2" off the 7/8" OD meter. Is this intentional? If so, could I begin with 3/4" off the meter and then increase to my desired 1" line until I am closer to the fixtures?

I presently have quite the water hammer sound at about 15 feet from the meter when ever the water is running. Will the CPVC eliminate this. My water preasure registers between 70-90psi over a 24 hr period. Is this higher preasure the cause of the hammer sound?

I also noticed that the existing 3/4" copper drops to 1/2" about 10 ft before the hot water tank (the first fixture in the waterline) and continues at 1/2" throughout the house. I suppose I can reduce from 1" and continue with 3/4" to the remainding fixtures? Is there a minimum distance before a fixture (in my case the hotwater tank) that I sould make my reduction in size?

I am sure I will have more questions to come as I progress with the sanitary drains etc in the days to come.

Great forum,

Rick

Shacko

Master Plumber-Gas Fitter
Reaction score
Re-pipe

You do not want a restriction at the meter, run 3/4 in and increase to 1in. if thats the way you want to go. Most of the time 3/4in. is plenty large enough for the average house.