Foundation cracks

Users who are viewing this thread

Zach

Reaction score
I've noticed some recent settling on one side of my 1929 home. There are a couple of new cracks in the concrete block foundation, and some cracks in the brick mortar on both the front and back of the house. No recent changes have been made to the house, yard, etc.

What is the best way to proceed? I've talked to several people around here, but no one has any recommendations for people to talk to.

Should I start with an engineer? (structural, or otherwise?) or should I talk to a foundation contractor first?

Zach

Mikey

Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek
Reaction score
I'd talk to my insurance company first. If you lived in Florida, and mumbled something about sinkholes, they'd be out there pronto and diagnose the problem. Even if not an insurable event, they might have some good advice on how to proceed. Being an engineer myself, I'd call either an architect or a structural engineer.

Zach

Reaction score
Actually, I'm in Jacksonville.

I am hesitant to piss off the insurance company. My house has the original asbestos-cement roof, and out of about 40 insurance companies, mine was the only one that would cover it. I'm looking at roofing options now, but until then.....

I see you're in Central FL.. Do you have any recommendations for a structural engineer in Jax? I'm not sure who to call for a reference. Although, as you said, my insurance co will be a good place to start.

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
The house is 77 years old and it hasn't fallen down yet. I would vote for watchful waiting. Take some measurements of the crack and take some pictures. Don't look at it again for at least 3 months. See if it is growing.

I suspect that there are few 77 year old houses that don't have cracks in the foundation.