Finish half of the basement

Users who are viewing this thread

ariapn

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a complete newbie planning to finish just half of my basement and leave the other half with the HVAC stuff unfinished and maybe use it for storage.
I'm going to frame and insulate the concrete walls in the finished room.
My question is what kind of insulation I need on the wall between finished and unfinished part? Also, do I need to do anything to the unfinished concrete walls?
Thanks.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a complete newbie planning to finish just half of my basement and leave the other half with the HVAC stuff unfinished and maybe use it for storage.
I'm going to frame and insulate the concrete walls in the finished room.
My question is what kind of insulation I need on the wall between finished and unfinished part? Also, do I need to do anything to the unfinished concrete walls?
Thanks.

Mayhaps you should be asking what to put up against the concrete wall. If you put up a studwall against the studwall and insulate it with batts you'll have a serious mold condition with 5 years ( if not 5 months!). Putting a polyethylene vapor retarder up against the concrete fixes that problem but creates another: Trapping ground moisture in the foundation wall causes it to saturate, moisture rises within the foundation to the above-grade portion where it'l effloresce & spall, and often create rot condtions at the foundation sill.