failed sump pump, efferescence and slow toilet

Users who are viewing this thread

RobinSueBlack

Reaction score
I am new to understanding how sump pumps effect other areas of the house and would like some help. One of my 2 sump pumps has stopped working (after the main power to the house was shut off by the electric co) and since then I notice efferescense on the cinderblock walls in some areas. If I look inside the pump I can see water sitting about a foot down. These sump pumps work with a french drain and also are tied into a bigger drainage system a ways back outside my property. Also, around the same time my first level powder room toilet started to overflow at times and run sluggish with a girgelly sound. I had the plumber out and he said the toilet was fine and that it may be the sewer lines. Could this all be connected? I had a water proofing co. out to my house and tried to sell me 10,000 dollar system, not even suggesting that I fix the one sump pump and see what happens. Can someone please help with educating me on this issues. The drainage system was put in by a reputable builder who built the house for himself and the first 2 years living here (I've been here 2 1/2 years) the basement was dry as toast. Thank you. Robin

Got_Nailed

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Well it sounds like you have 2 problems.

#1 You need to replace the sump pump. That pump was probably put there for a reason or someone had too much time and money so they got board and put one there. So yes why not replace it.

#2 Sounds like you had a blockage in the toilet line for the powder room. It sounds like a vent line is blocked by the given description. But if the plumber says it was a sewer line being clogged that could of lead to the vent getting clogged. Depending on the layout of the house (plumbing) a 50 foot snake down the roof could fix the vent.

Questions for you…
Do you have a septic system?