Expansion tank on HWD system

Users who are viewing this thread

Young_apprentice

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

just a quick question, im a plumbing apprentice so i have ALOT of them and i need a place to get answers!

why does a expansion tank need to be installed on some hot water dist. systems but not others?

FLEXCON- gave this answer in their Instruction manuel... Anyone care to translate for a poor apprentice?:)

"thermal expansion tanks eliminate the problem of nuisance cycling of the safety
relief valve when a backflow preventer or check valve is present in a domestic hot water system.
Utilizing Flexcon’s patented double diaphragm system, they provide a reservoir for
expanded water volume and help to prevent dangerous over pressurization. The diaphragm is
permanently separated from the tank’s air charge. The tanks also feature a brass or stainless
steel system connection for maximum corrosion resistance."

Thanks guys!

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Frankly, MOST systems call for an expansion tank. First, in theory, if the house has a pressure regulator, that may be a "one way" device. But many of them do have a bypass feature. But that simply prevents house-side pressure from rising above street-side. But if the street-side pressure is above 110 psi or so, then you may still get weeping from the water heater T/P valve

Young_apprentice

Reaction score
Ok thanks hackney that made sense Volume control caused by the increase in temperature- thats the purpose of a expansion tank. I can see now how it would protect the t+p. As the heated water expands it has nowhere to go due to the check valve so it would normally expand and expand until the t+p senses the increases and blows out.
So as the water expands and the pressure increases the expansion tank acts as a compartment for the pressurized water to go and the additional water presses against the diagphram expanding it allowing for more water to enter.