Electrical Circuit Larger Than Needed

Users who are viewing this thread

Greenthumb77

Reaction score
I am planing a kitchen remodel and my wife wants a Bosch single wall oven, undercounter installation. The instructions say a 30 A breaker 240/208V. I checked the panel and the circuit has two 40 amp breakers to serve the existing wall oven.

We would like to replace the exiting cooktop with a Bosch induction that requires a 30 amp breaker 240/208 V. The existing circuit that services the old cooktop has two 40 amp breakers.

Here is my question. Can i use the existing circuits that are 40 amps for the new appliances that need 30 amps?

Thank you for your advice

Jim

Texas Wellman

In the Trades
Reaction score
Please note that I'm not an electrician. That being said the breaker protects the wire as much as the appliance. You can always downgrade the existing breaker to a two pole 30 amp and use the same wire.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Yes. The CB is there to protect the wiring up to the device. If you really wanted to, it would be legal to install a smaller breaker in the panel, but it is not required. You can use wire larger than necessary for any protection device (within reason...the wire must still fit the attachment point), but you can never use a bigger breaker with a smaller wire than required. Think of it like this: you may have a 15A circuit in your living room, and only plug in a 60W (~0.5A) lamp...things work fine. Generally (there may be exceptions), a CB on a circuit is sized for the wiring, but more importantly so that the wiring in the wall doesn't overheat and cause a fire. A short in the device will cause a 40A breaker to trip about the same time as a 30A breaker.

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
What should be confirmed is the actual wire size that is installed. Don't make the mistake of assuming anything.

Onokai

Reaction score