Electric Water Heater as Indirect?

Users who are viewing this thread

smyke

Reaction score
Hello,

Newbie here.

I am in the process of buying a house that we want to convert to NG. It has an old oil boiler for heat and electric WH (about 8 years old). I do not have the specifics on either piece of equipment yet.
Once we close on the house in a few days I will have contractors come in and sort it all out but for now I am just trying to understand what my options are.

My question is: can the existing Water Heater be used as an indirect tank?
In my head it seems pretty simple: hot water from the boiler goes into the tank which will then push it up into the system. Electric element may help in keeping the temp where it needs to be if necessary. Is it this easy? I know I am missing something.

That way I only have to have a new NG boiler installed and utilize whats already in there.

Any and all help will be appreciated.

Mike

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
An indirect uses either a water jacket or heating coils to heat the potable water...the boiler's water and the potable water do NOT mix, and a typical WH does not have any way to port that boiler water into the system to heat the potable water. If the tank was designed for say solar, or something similar, it might have a dual mode, but a generic WH cannot be used as an indirect. Essentially, an indirect operates as a heating zone, often a priority zone, so it gets heat first.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Maybe not the simplest, because you CANNOT mix the heating system and hot water system, because the operate at different pressures, and also mixing them would create ENORMOUS problems with corrosion and boiler failures.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
If the electric hot water heater is in good shape there's no financial case for going to an indirect right away.