Dripping Pumptrol Square D

Users who are viewing this thread

Bigtwin

Reaction score
I recently noticed a puddle of water, about 3 ft across, around my pressure tanks(s). Upon inspection I found a constant drip coming from the bottom of the Pumptrol Square D. Water around those electrical connections looks pretty scary to me. Is this the Pumptrol leaking or a connection going to it? I'm new to water wells. The Pumptrol does seem to be operating as it should..30 lbs low and then it cuts on and pumps up to about 50 lbs.

Bigtwin

Reaction score
Inside the Square D cover is "9013FSG 2" and a little to the right is "Ser B". Could somone clarify which model I need? I measured the voltage on the only two wires on the switch and it shows about 495 volts. Can a 230 volt model be used?

Bigtwin

Reaction score
I called Square D support and after talking to them, the 440 line with 3 wires is a one phase. A 9013 GHG2J21 was recommended, however, these must be a rare bird as I was never able to find one on the web. Since the 9013 FSG2 was installed and worked for a few years, replacing it with the same model is appealing at this point.

Speedbump

Reaction score
So your telling me you have 460 volt three phase power at your house and that's what your pump is running on? If this is really the case, I think you will find that there is a contactor somewhere that is acting as the switch for your Pump. The pressure switch is the control which would only have to break one wire. That would be one of the two wires that feed the coil on that Contactor.

If I were you, I would call someone that knows what they are doing. Your messing with some pretty high voltage.

bob...

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com