Drake repeated filling... out of ideas

Users who are viewing this thread

quarry23

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm kinda new to DIY. Hoping for another opinion on this... or maybe some clarification on how things should work.

I have a Toto Drake that was installed in early 2007. Worked flawlessly for six years, at which point, it started losing water somehow, resulting in it filling up for a few seconds many times a day. After some research (mostly from this forum - thanks!), I learned that either the fill valve or the flapper was likely to be the culprit.

I started with the fill valve (a Korky 528T replacement), and installed it in early 2013. I was very proud of my new DIY skills, and even more pleased that it seemed to fix the issue... for about six months. Then the on/off filling started again. Ugh.

Thinking maybe I did something wrong, I decided to try again, this time with just the valvecap. Cleaning it didn't help, so I replaced the assembly (Korky again). Not surprisingly, this made no difference. I moved on to the flapper.

Like the fill valve, the Korky flapper replacement worked for a few months. I lost faith in my DIYing, and called a plumber. Obviously, he would know more about this than I would, and I had had enough of random parts replacement and just wanted the incessant filling fixed.

He came in, immediately told me that the Toto/Korky parts were garbage, and put in a FluidMaster fill valve (PRO45). I would have accepted his claim had it worked. But, exactly like the Korky replacement, it worked for a few months, and then the filling started again.

Over 18 months later, I'm out of ideas, and a bit frustrated. I understand that parts wear out and need to be replaced periodically, but it kind of feels like I'm missing something. Or maybe these things really do just have a much shorter lifespan than I expected...

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Kari

WJcandee

Wise One
Reaction score